• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

General Zelda Action or Adventure?

Which is more important for Zelda?

• Action

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Adventure

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Locke

Hegemon
Site Staff
Zelda is usually described as an "action/adventure" series, but which is more important? Do you prefer more frequent and detailed battles, or more exploration, puzzles, and discovery? Feel free to frame your response in how you think they're doing right now, but please try to avoid straw men which can lead us off-topic.

I've always been drawn to Zelda for the adventure, and I'm worried that they're losing their focus on that aspect. Aonuma claims to draw some inspiration from MYST, a series I've loved since before I started playing Zelda, but I don't think this shows enough in the games. Rather than more intricate battles and epic destinations, I think they need to focus on more believable and immersive worlds, deeper puzzles, and more meaningful journeys.

I'm upset when the "difficulty" of a Zelda game is measured by how easy it is to kill enemies or by how much damage they do. Enemies should be a side-show to detailed environments and challenging puzzles. I'd like to be able to measure difficulty based on how often I get lost or stuck, not on how many times I die.

DarkLink7

I make my own fate!
I like the adventure aspect. It's a way to sort of relax, like in SS and TP, just wandering around, collecting and discovering was fun. I just answered in "Which Zelda Overworld was Best to Explore", and I said that I loved finding all the little random things in the games. All the mini-dungeons and puzzles. It's good because theres fighting sprinkled in, so it's not uber-tedious.

Hanyou

didn't build that
If you look at the roots of the series, they're both very important. This makes it completely legitimate to criticize a Zelda game for how its action is executed.