• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Why the Newer Games Are Easier Than the Older Ones

Locke

Hegemon
Site Staff
Please note that this is not intended to be a debate over which games are easier. If you disagree with that premise, please save it for a different thread.

Assuming that the newer games are generally "easier" than older ones, why has this happened? Is it a good thing?

I came to a conclusion for both of these questions by examining my own skillset. I am not good at fast-paced action. In many of the earlier games, the "action" in "action/adventure", while not quite emphasized, played a large role - especially in battles and in puzzles requiring precise timing. I would argue that challenge is an important aspect of a game, but there's also the reality that many people just aren't inclined to certain skills, and training them can be frustrating.

What I think has happened is that the gaming industry has expanded by weeding out those elements requiring specific skillsets in favor of tasks that are more generally enjoyable, hoping to make games more accessible. With "action" limiting them to those players with specific skillsets, they began focusing on building worlds for "adventure", which is a much broader activity and can be enjoyed by a much larger audience.

The challenge is still there, but it's not focused on a specific skillset so it's not as taxing. Think of it like sitting on the blunt end of a nail versus the sharp end - Even though one end has more of an impact, there's just as much nail either way.

Improving controls to be more intuitive may also play a role.

I haven't addressed whether this is a good thing much, but I think I'll follow my advice and open this up for some discussion first.

Ventus

Mad haters lmao