• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

EBay Question. Please HELP!!!

Nerion

Nerion Saiarion
I have 2 questions about eBay that I hope you can answer as soon as possible.

1. If I bid $50 on something with the starting bid at $400, will it count?
(The second question is more like a follow-up question.)
2. If someone bids $500 on the item, and withdraw his/her bid right before the auction ends, will I get the item for the price of $50?

Sydney

The Good Samaritan
I have 2 questions about eBay that I hope you can answer as soon as possible.

1. If I bid $50 on something with the starting bid at $400, will it count?
(The second question is more like a follow-up question.)
2. If someone bids $500 on the item, and withdraw his/her bid right before the auction ends, will I get the item for the price of $50?
I'm not an eBay expert but:
1.) No, you need to start at $400 or more.
2.) No.

Vanessa28

Angel of Darkness
Staff member
ZD Legend
Administrator
No, in both cases the answer is NO. When the starting bid is $400 there is NO WAY the seller will drop the price for you. They will not even take you serious if you bid $50 so be careful.

A few other tips I can give you since I am very known with Ebay:

1. Always check if the item can be found for cheaper
Sometimes a seller wants to make you believe the item is rare and you can never get it. This is NOT true. Often the items are plenty available and you really must do a good search
2. Always check the seller's feedback
There is nothing MORE IMPORTANT than this! It sounds weird but don't do business with sellers who have 98% feedback or lower. It might sound good to you but trust me, it is not. Of course there are exceptions. Sometimes a seller has been into trouble and things can get out of hand but most of the time do business with sellers who have a 99,5 - 100% feedback range