• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Athenian200's Timeline

athenian200

Circumspect
a place of settlement, activity, or residence.
Okay, this is my first attempt at a timeline... it's mostly based on the impression I get from the games, there's not a whole lot of rigorous reasoning behind it.

First of all, I'll just make the disclaimer that a lot of the games in the series don't really seem to fit anywhere in particular. I do give a bit of credibility to Nintendo's comment that the games were never intended to have consistent timelines, because that does show in places.

But anyway, here it goes:

TMC/FSA-OOT/MM-OOX-TP-ALTTP/LA-TWW/PH/ST-LOZ/AOL

1. Minish Cap/Four Swords Adventure

I think it's pretty much agreed that Minish Cap is a prequel to Four Swords Adventures, and it seems to make sense from the way the game's story is told. I think there's an untold story that occurred before Minish Cap, about the first Hero that wielded the Picori Blade (in-game, you wield the reforged version, the White Sword or Four Sword). Anyway, the reason I think these games come first, is because the Master Sword doesn't exist in its current form yet, and Vaati appears to be an older evil than Ganondorf (in fact Ganondorf finds his trident for the first time in FSA).

2. Ocarina of Time

The Temple of Time is close to the castle, and looks rather similar to the place where the Four Sword is left at the end of FSA. It seems like enough time might have passed for the sword to pass into legend and finally be named the Master Sword (it went from Picori Blade, to White Sword, to Four Sword between MC and FSA, thus clearly hadn't cemented itself yet). It's possible that Ganondorf creates another avatar of himself ala Agahnim (since he's long forgotten), and uses it to trick Link (via Zelda) into opening the door to the Sacred Realm and unleashing his former power.