• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Where Do You Start with Music?

Ventus

Mad haters lmao
This is more of a Music Help thread than anything...but I've always wanted to review albums like the big kids, problem being I know absolutely nothing about music. I can't distinguish instruments from each other (just the other day, I thought a Violin was a Guitar...at least by ear). So uh...where do you start with music? Do you hop into the beginnings of Music Theory, or what?

This is a surprisingly difficult question to answer. I'll start my attempt by providing two essentials:

1) Learn an instrument

This is usually kind of expensive. However, depending on how seriously you want to take music, it's likely unavoidable. Jumping in and trying to learn music theory isn't going to help that much if you don't give yourself some context and practice its applications. I'm primarily a drummer, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to someone being self-taught, as it's almost entirely rhythm based. Guitar is always a good way to go, and you can get a usable acoustic guitar for $70-$80 on Black Friday, and usually $150+ otherwise. Ideally, though, I would recommend a keyboard, or a regular acoustic piano if you have one around for any reason. Practically every aspect of music finds its way onto the piano, though be wary as it's possibly the most difficult instrument to master. A keyboard would also probably be more expensive than a guitar. Singing can be a good medium for learning about music, but you'd definitely need to take lessons, which would significantly add to costs. Again, what's important here is the hands-on learning and the experience you gain.

2) Dedicate yourself