• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

How did you start your hobbies?

Uwu_Oocoo2

Joy is in video games and colored pencils
Forum Volunteer
I'm pretty sure everyone has some sort of hobby, whether it be art, music, sewing, etc. What made you start yours?

For me, I started drawing in 7th grade shortly after my best friend because she liked to draw. I just wanted to be able to make drawing that were better than hers, sort of a friendly competition lol. She doesn't draw much anymore so she hasn't really improved a lot, but I still think she's better at it.
My other hobby which I don't do as often, is sewing plushies. I just started doing it during the pandemic because I was bored and trying not to go insane.

I've been drawing since before preschool. I guess kind of similarly, I had someone to pace with, being my sister. Lots of my early childhood was sitting at a Fischer Price picnic table and drawing the cast from Scooby Doo and the Powerpuff Girls with my sis. Found this when I was cleaning out something in the basement last year; if I were to guess, I was probably 3 or 4 when I drew this.
81901bd9d9.jpg

I hope I find more of these cuz they're hilarious to me. I think that might also speak about my love of plants from an early age :suspicious:

While I did obsessively pick dandelions as a child, my real interest in plants probably stemmed (pun not intended) more from my mom being given houseplants by people and then them dying, and then I finally took it upon myself to keep them alive cuz my mom couldn't. I eventually got my first houseplant to call my own when I was in sixth grade, spontaneously while school supply shopping. It's sadly no longer with me, rest in peace og blue violet </3