• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Have Zelda characters impacted/inspired your life?

SariaFan93

Friend & Protector of the Forest Sage
I wonder if it's just me, or does anyone else have a Zelda character that's impacted/influenced their life in some way. For me, that character is Saria and she has impacted my life in a positive way. I started playing Ocarina of Time when I was 13, and she was the character that I liked the most due to her friendly traits. It's a long story, but I'll shorten it to the highlights.

When I was in junior year of high school, I was on a robotics team that bullied me and treated me like scum. I have Asperger's and anxiety, and my team shunned me over tensions from a girl who rejected me for friendship. I felt the need to get a plushie of Saria, but none were readily available. I had one custom made for my 18th birthday. And during my senior year of high school, my robotics team continued to shun me. Things went too far when that same girl who rejected me started a rumor stating I'd turn a robotics competition in Chicago into a Columbine-like massacre. I left the team and didn't go on the trip, and the only thing that soothed my emotional wounds was Saria. I just kept thinking about her and how she was always there for Link. Also, I would hug and hold my Saria plushie whenever I felt down. I graduated 3rd in my class.

I also gained two new close friends because of my fandom. One friend found me on YouTube, and our similarities were nearly identical (including being Saria fans). And I met one friend at my college, and managed to stop that person from harming themselves. Saria has improved my social skills and taught me the true meaning of friendship. She also instilled the idea in me of never giving up on myself.