• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

ZD Smash tournament!

Which model?

• #1, Elim bracket

Votes: 8 61.5%
  • #2, One night of glory

Votes: 5 38.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Chevywolf30

The one and only.
Forum Volunteer
E1zQ6eIUYAMQsPn
Hello, everyone! I am now in charge of the Smash tournaments, but I've never done something like this before, so I want y'alls feedback! Right now I've got two different models I'm considering.

Model #1 is similar to how Terminus runs the Pokemon tournaments, I would set up a bracket and randomize y'all and it would be up to the participants to move the tournament along.

Model #2 is a more traditional Smash tournament, we would have to set up a time that works for everyone and all meet together and use the tournament mode in Smash Ultimate.

I'd like to hear feedback on those models and what rulesets y'all wanna see, items or no, how to set the stage, etc, etc, etc. I'll let the discussion run for a week or so and then set up signups based on the more popular option.

twilitfalchion

and thus comes the end of an era
Staff member
I like model one better, personally. Easier to do quick matches with each other and whatnot.

When it comes to Smash, the best ruleset is 3-4 stock, no items, final destination omega and battlefield only, if you ask me.

Chevywolf30

The one and only.
Forum Volunteer
I pushed double elim for pokemon and I'll push it here too
if there's a lot of interest, maybe a 4 player friendly bracket in addition to a 2 player bracket?
Absolutely. That had crossed my mind but didn't actually make it out when I was typing.
I like model one better, personally. Easier to do quick matches with each other and whatnot.

When it comes to Smash, the best ruleset is 3-4 stock, no items, final destination omega and battlefield only, if you ask me.