• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

The Problem with Resident Evil 6...

Turo602

Vocare Ad Pugnam
...as a Resident Evil game. Now I've expressed my opinions on Resident Evil 6 on several occasions, since its release on October 2nd. In case you're not familiar with my posts, here's a quick rundown. Resident Evil 6 has tons of great content, and does so much right, but has its flaws. Its biggest weakness, is its ambition. Capcom tried to do too much with a great idea, that would of been perfect, if it had less. With that said, I'll admit that I had, and still continue to have, a great time with Resident Evil 6. It's a fun game, and is worth checking out if you enjoy action games, co-op games, or are a fan of the direction the series has been heading.

I've been a fan of Resident Evil since my brother first got Resident Evil 2 for the N64. So I understand where a lot of the older fans are coming from when they bash the more action oriented installments. As a gamer, I appreciate both sides of the series, but as a fan of the series and the survival horror genre, I really wish Capcom would go back to its roots. I'm not asking for fixed camera angles, mansions, or any of what we got from the past, but an evolution of that. I don't even mind if action is mixed in there, just as long as we get something that resembles what the series used to be. I want backtracking, fear of what's around the next corner, intimidating enemies, exploration, and puzzle solving.