• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

subtitles and TV failings

Dizzi

magical internet cat....
ZD Legend
ok being deaf means I have to have subtitles on TV so I can follow whats happening, if the programme is live the subs are slow, that annoys me, but how would you deal with it and have you had any funny subtitles if you use them?

Beauts

Rock and roll will never die
I can imagine it must be really annoying when the subtitles are slow, because you want to be watching at the same pace as everyone else. I don't use subtitles because I end up reading them instead of watching the action. I mean, I'm fine not being able to hear it in a way, but I'm not very good at reading and watching at the same time.

I can't think of any examples in particular that I've found funny, but I always find it hilarious when there's music or something in a show and the subtitles describe it like [sensual music] or something. I just find it comical, even when the scene is serious or intense.

InsomniacAttack

wtf did u say about me u little mcnuggit?
My ex-girlfriend insisted that we had the subtitles on whenever we watched TV even though she can hear perfectly well. I think she just liked having them because she could pay less attention to the TV and more to other things (her phone, me lol.) Sometimes for fun, I'll turn on the annotations on YouTube because often they're completely wrong and hilarious. I found a video I made for school a few years back and tried the auto-generated annotations and it was so wrong and so funny.

Dizzi

magical internet cat....
ZD Legend
yea one time me and dad were laughing cuase it said 'smirks' we're all 'how does that have a noise??'

Ragnarokio

If you don't identify as the default options of Male/Female, you may enter your gender here.