• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

New Combat System in Skyward Sword.

athenian200

Circumspect
a place of settlement, activity, or residence.
I've been reading about the Combat system in Skyward Sword, and there are a few things that have me concerned.

I'm concerned about having to dynamically adjust to enemy movement in real time, because that's exactly the kind of thing I'm not very good at doing. I've read that it will involve having to switch between various kinds of sword strokes, and focus on defending with the shield, all at the same time.

This might end up being too much to process mentally. I'm increasingly feeling that new games tax my very poor multitasking and dynamic reaction capabilities in ways that make it very difficult for me to adapt.

What I'm basically picturing, is having to swing the sword one way, while holding the shield another, and having to move them both around with great speed in order to deflect and attack. I don't think I'm cut out for it, because I just can't make my arms respond that quickly for more than a few minutes. My hands, maybe... but not my arms. That's just too much to ask.

For someone like me, the proposed system would make each battle would feel like a boss battle to me, and the boss battles feel impossible.

So, what do you think? Do you like the new combat system? Or do you have reservations about it?

I think you bring up some very good points.

Although i think given time, and after dying several times I do think the synapses in your brain would start to function faster, as they could predict your opponents next move, and you'd prepare yourself for defense or offense depending on the situation. I wouldn't underestimate the power of your brain just yet, lass.