• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Japanese Learning Aids

February Eve

ZD District Attorney
As I've mentioned before, I lived in Japan a couple years, but have been away longer than I lived there and have forgotten a lot of what I've learned due to lack of use. I'd like to return for a vacation within the next couple years, however, and plan to start studying it again. Since I've seen other people say they'd like to learn the language, I'd like to post some of the helpful learning aids I come across and give a review of them, and if you're currently studying it yourself, I would be very happy if you would do the same. I am always looking for useful Japanese resources.

Again, I am by no means an expert in the language, but these are some of the tools I've come across as a student.

Jim Breen's Online Dictionary

This is an invaluable website once you learn how to use it.

Word search/home

This is what you use if you already know the English and want to find a Japanese word. You need to know which setting to use, though. For example, typing in an "orange" may give you a bunch of hits, but it's not sorted - you'll get the color orange and the fruit, but also different kidnds of fruit, etc. Changing the options to "restrict to common words" helps that out, but there will still be more hits than you expect. But selecting "restrict to common words" and "require exact-word matches" are best for beginners only brings up the translation for the color and the fruit - most of the time, what you want.

One thing I like about this dictionary is often an "Ex" will come up next to the word. That means there are examples of that word used in a sentence. Keep in mind that some of these are user-submitted, so treat the information with the same grain of salt as you would something found on a wiki, but many times they are still quite useful.