• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

How do you deal with writer's block?

twilitfalchion

and thus comes the end of an era
Staff member
This has been on my mind recently since I haven't really been able to think of a way to get around it. It's a simple question, really, but writers of ZD, how do you typically overcome writer's block? Is there something specific that you do that helps, or do you just do something else until inspiration comes, etc.?

Echolight

❤️ love yourself ❤️
ZD Champion
I struggle with writers block as well. I’m not very good at overcoming it, most of the time I’ll wait long enough until I get a spurt of inspiration and write for a few hours. But it’s random. If I want inspiration immediately, sometimes I’ll play a scene from whatever I’m writing currently in my head and write down what I thought. Or I’ll write an outline of a scene, and then my inspiration gets flowing, so I then write it more detailed. While you wait for your inspiration, you can deepen your characters’ personalities and backstories, that might even get you itching to start writing.

If I want to come up with a story to write that’s fresh and new, I use a word generator. I, myself, use an adjective generator specifically. Take a few words and come up with a story that combines them all successfully. The stories don’t have to be long, it can be only a couple pages even. It’s a good way to get my inspiration flowing for me. It’s also a great writing workout.

That’s pretty much it for me. I hope you can find your inspiration soon! I know it sucks. Your writing is great, by the way. <3

If I'm finding it difficult to write I usually put the idea of writing out of my head entirely. I find dwelling on it makes it way worse and the you end up trying to force something and it comes out bad.