• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Dueling Groose

Jetaluski7

Master Swordsman
When I started playing Skyward Sword, I was psyched about the motion controls. I couldn't wait to fight another sword-wielding opponent. So when I was searching for my loftwing, I met Groose who seems to hate me. I knew immediately that he did something to my loftwing, so I was ready to fight him to get her back. Was anybody else expecting to fight Groose? On a similar note, do wish you could have sparred with other students and knights in the training hall?

I actually think this is an interesting idea. It would have been nice to spar with Groose prior to his transformation. As Skyward Sword stands, however, Groose is one of the most developed characters in franchise history. He went from one of the game's main antagonists and a school bully to a true companion as well as generator of various Internet memes which I'll refrain from posting here. That change of character is what truly sets his character apart for me.

Ventus

Mad haters lmao
Yeah, SS could've used far more combat minigames than it presented. Heck, I'd love for Groose to be an optional secret boss that can roflstomp you if you're not prepared. Basically yes, I expected to fight Groose at one point. The idea of him as a superboss though...oh so good.

Shadsie

Sage of Tales
Hmm...

Here's my idea for a mini-game, sadly, it could probably only be an option at the beginning of the game before the main quest, or possibly as a "Link has a flashback mode" if it is made an option for any-time...

You go into the training hall and Eagus asks you if you want to brush up on your sword skills. If you select "Yes" you get an option not unlike the Thunder Dragon's boss-rush, only this is you remembering your lessons with fellow students.