• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Spoiler Does Zelda Ever Remind You of a Really Good Disney Movie?

So I started playing Skyward Sword again, for probably the fourth time and I noticed something. Now of course y'all can go off blasting me on this, it's not something I want everyone to think about but just an expression of what I noticed...

So since we've all been playing the same game I can at least backtrack and explain myself further on what I have examined.
So I have this big obsession with animation, have had it for years and been eyeing the Disney movies up and down, examining them and tracking their style from one movie to the next.
I have said before that Zelda has inspired me to draw and was probably the match that lit the creative fires in my brain, from the beautiful tones in every game manual to the enchanting art style, it was just a recipe for me to cook with.

Now eventually Skyward Sword came along, beautiful game, beautiful art style I fell in love with from the very beginning. Right from the beginning of the game I came to realize that this was a story driven Zelda experience. Like I'm not saying it's the only one, Twilight Princess had it's share of cinematic moments. Skyward Sword though was pushing it, Nintendo finally realized they had a chance to go deeper into the Zelda lore and bring this series to a lush bloom.
I'm sure you've all experienced these cinematics the way I have?

[video=youtube;rKpP_ZQUA8Y]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKpP_ZQUA8Y[/video]​

It's beautiful, it's engrossing, something I haven't felt in a Zelda game before. There were a few of these moments in Twilight Princess, I'll give it that. Sadly it just didn't feel like I was in the right place, I felt rushed and at times a little impatient. Once I got to the City in the Sky I just wanted the game to be over, it was a short game but it seemed to trail on and on at times.