• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Could You Consider a Game Great if It Weren't Fun?

I recently started playing Paper Mario: Sticker Star and, while I was initially very impressed by the graphics, the much-improved quality of dialogue, and the unique concepts, now five hours into the game, I've found that I'm not necessarily having fun as much as I feel like I'm completing a chore.

It's very hard to create a game with an X-factor--something that its fans will look forward playing and a story into which the players can't wait to delve deeper. That said, could you appreciate the effort and successful applications of every other attribute of a game enough to call it a masterpiece despite its low entertainment-value?

I've always believed appreciation of an interactive medium and personal enjoyment to be mutually exclusive. I've done so on this forum before as well. In September I created a thread titled Skyward Sword Refined Zelda. Skyward Sword stands as my least favorite console Zelda installment but I recognize the worthwhile minor additions it implemented and would like for them to return.

If a game is generally well received, I will acknowledge it as such and if the title wasn't on my radar before likely purchase it. Due to videogames being driven by player involvement, however, fun is the most compelling reason to play. No work of art can be fully acknowledged if the beholder doesn't appreciate it. I'm not very skilled at survival horror games like Resident Evil nor do I find the slow progression entertaining, however, the atmosphere is among the best in gaming and sufficient for me to peg it as "great". That said, I stray away from it because I feel as though it would be a waste of money if I had to force myself to sit down and play.

Zorth

#Scoundrel