• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

"Coming Back Around" a Wind Waker Story

Alita the Pun

Dmitri

Ok ok BotW yadda yadda yadda. It's great and all but I wanted to see how it felt when compared with some of the older games. you see I loved BotW, but I'm not the biggest fan of these non-linear, open world games. I like to have a bit more of a structured story to my games. once I beat the main story in BotW I couldn't find much motivation to play anymore. its a spectacular game but I need that constant story to keep me going. so I went back and tried a game I had never got very far in: Wind Waker. when I originally started it, I wasn't a huge fan and quickly lost interest. I started playing it again recently and fell in love with it. I loved the structured story. I loved the actual dungeons. don't get me wrong. BotW was a fantastic game but it didn't have the complete Zelda "feel" if you know what I mean. I have now decided I'm going to play WW all the way through now and also finish ST. there were a lot of good things that came out of BotW but you just can't beat the classics. what's your opinion on BotW compared to an older game like WW or Oot? did BotW put the older, more structured games into a different perspective for you or are you happy and content with the new games?

:bubsy::bubsy::bubsy:

Last edited:

Bowsette Plus-Ultra

wah
ZD Legend
I don't think a lot of 3D Zelda titles hold up very well when compared to Breath of the Wild.

Like it or not, 3D Zelda has some seriously condescending gameplay. They treat players like kids, shove them into boring tutorials that last for hours, and use companions to tell you when and where to go. In Wind Waker's case, it has a huge open world that you're only allowed to experience one bit at a time, since the King of Red Lions is a hard ass and doesn't let you explore at all during the game's first five hours or so.