• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Why Four Swords Adventures only works in the Child Timeline

Of the three timelines that take place after Ocarina of Time, the adult and child timelines have always made the most sense to people. However there is one game that many people felt did not belong where it was placed and just didn't make much sense, and that is Four Swords Adventures. However after playing the game very recently, I have come to the conclusion that this is the only place it CAN make sense.

As I studied all of the story aspects, I can see why people feel it is out of place. Ganon appearing once again despite being killed at the end of Twilight Princess, the Dark Trident that is very similar to Ganon's trident in A Link to the Past, the way the Dark World is handled, and the list goes on. Well lets look at all of the alternatives as to where the game could have taken place and end this debate once and for all.

First we will look at the possibility of a direct sequel to Four Swords. Right away we can rule this out due to the fact that the Ganondorf in Ocarina of Time is the first incarnation of Ganon as stated by the Hyrule Historia. Furthermore Ganon gets sealed in the Four Sword at the end of Four Swords Adventures, and therefore would prevent him from being reincarnated even if this one actually came first.