• Welcome to ZD Forums! You must create an account and log in to see and participate in the Shoutbox chat on this main index page.

Will Splatoon's lore amount to anything?

So I'm playing Splatoon to get myself hyped for the sequel.

I must admit i wasn't too fussed with Splatoon when it first came out. The characters were cute and it was a cool concept reversal of Mario Sunshine. But it was the online aspect that turned me off (and its a shooter, I'm not very good at those). However i'm not too bad at it and thankfully the single player was pretty damn decent (so we'll always have that long after the servers are shut down).

My first time through the single player campaign i wasnt too fussed about getting the sunken sea scrolls (though i'm going back through to nab them now). I didnt even read the ones i collected the first time through but they actually tell a decent history.

This got me thinking about the lore, the way the trailers for Splatoon 2 are paying attention to the world like with news broadcasts for salmon run and talking about the environment and locations of things. I also think its an impressive and unique way of story telling using the final splatfest (Marie vs Callie) to set up the story of the single player in the sequel.

The first game didnt pay this much attention to the single player aspect so i'm wondering if the Splatoon team are making a go of trying to deepen the lore and increase the story telling of Splatoon, and in that a couple of sequels time we may actually have something deep and involving within the franchise as far as lore goes.

Do you think this may be the case? Would you like deeper Splatoon lore to theorise on and delve into or dont you care?

Would it even have a place in such an online focussed game?

Morbid Minish

Spooky Scary Skeleton.
Forum Volunteer